The Women’s Marches Around the World

With over 670 marches world-wide, The Women’s March has made history. While we couldn’t travel everywhere ourselves, we did manage to get a few stories from marches other than the one that took place in Boston.

Kevin Adato – New York

Why did you participate?

I didn’t expect it to be as big as it was. I live next to the UN and the Trump world tower so hearing the crowd, the chants and seeing the people was inevitable. I put on my pink t-shirt and decided to check it out and it was absolutely beautiful. As someone who’s been part of a peaceful protest (in Istanbul), I knew what the overall vibe was going to be. The major difference between this one and that of Istanbul is that this protest and movement in this country could and will actually have an effect.

How do you plan to continue the momentum?

My way of contributing is to ideally talk to those who are ignorant and against this movement in a non aggressive, empathetic way.

Do you think it is important to have men involved and if so, why?

Of course. No matter the cause, it’s important to have the support of those more relatively privileged to acknowledge the issues and fight for equal rights and human rights.

Jessica Lopes – D.C.

Why did you participate?

I marched for various reasons, including support for my black brothers and sisters, my LGBTQI brothers and sisters, for climate change and science, for Planned Parenthood…but especially for immigration reform and against the racism and xenophobia rampant in this country. I am a child of immigrants, but I’m privileged to be of white Christian European descent. My family never struggled to become citizens or to enter this country. My mother faced one incident of discrimination in her youth but otherwise no one has questioned if they belong here. Why is it that one race is welcomed while another is cast violently away? Why is it that one religion is celebrated while another is threatened with a registry? I marched as a white privileged woman in solidarity with my non-white and non-Christian brothers and sisters.

How do you plan to continue the momentum?

This march is only the beginning of our fight against Trump’s hateful administration. It’s only Day 1 of 1460. We have made our voices known, and we need to be sure they stay known. It’s time to call and write to our senators and representatives in Congress to let them know where we stand on the issues. We need to organize and support the efforts of organizations fighting for the rights of all. We need to work together by being intersectional and inclusive in our discussions and in our demonstrations. We need to be vigilant and fight any new bills in Congress that threaten these rights. And in two years, we need to educate the undecided voter on the issues, and campaign for new senators and representatives that will uphold their promises and support every American citizen regardless of race, religion, gender identity, and sexual orientation.

Kate Tessmann – D.C.

Why did you participate?

As a future social worker, woman, and ally, I march for those I love and the people they love. And you and the people you love. I will stand in solidarity with those fighting for human rights. I will make my voice heard, and listen to the voices of those around me. Let’s march forward, not backward. And this time, we include everyone.

I truly believe that my humanity is tied to yours. Any battles for human rights and social justice are my battles to fight, even if they do not pertain to me as an individual. I am who I am because of who we all are.

How do you plan to continue the momentum?

We must fight, every day, for the rights of all. This means that we have to turn awareness into conversations and actions. I will follow the advice from several speakers at the rally yesterday to remain engaged, and share action items I come across to support the work of equity.

As someone who works in the healthcare field, my mom highly suggests watching the documentary Sicko, which investigates the unjust, inadequate, for-profit health insurance and pharmaceutical industry prior to Obama’s election. We cannot move backwards, access to affordable health care is a human right.


Non-Fiction Feminism will be posting a series of articles this week with contributions from marchers on why they attended and how they plan on continuing the movement, answering questions the inclusive women’s march raised, and next steps to keep the momentum going. Check in and consider contributing by emailing nonfictionfeminism@gmail.com with why you marched and how you plan to keep the momentum going!

Leave a Reply

